Holiday running

Had a great time whilst visiting my family on the Isle of Skye last month. I’ve been visiting Skye for years but never really appreciated how many varied runs the island offers. My parents live in the North end of Skye beneath a volcanic line of mountains called the Trotternish ridge and offers some of the most spectacular views I’ve seen ❤️

Summertime can be difficult to road run though due to a very high level of tourists and a lack of pavements for safe running. This area still have some stretches of single track roads with passing places so you have to be ready to jump up on to the grass 🙄. This time of year though is much quieter and runner friendly.

This visit was fantastic as I managed to pack a few runs in which helped burn of the holiday treats and big meals plus helped me to feel good 👍🏻

sometimes I feel I stick to the same route and it can become too easy after a while so it’s great to mix things up a bit and try somewhere new although  Skye has some big hills 😳.It’s all good training though and will help me later when I return for the Skye half marathon in June next year. Looking forward to more training runs here around Christmas 😃

4 thoughts on “Holiday running

  1. wow!!! This looks beautiful! I agree with your comment about mixing things up and not always sticking to the same route…even running the same route in a reverse direction makes for a fun adventure 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

